Artistical statement
"Show the essential (the invisible) with almost nothing"
Read more...
"I consider a piece successful when it can be approached both physically (through feeling) and more intellectually. 
I do not disrepute the emotion aroused by the contemplation of an artistic work because I do not deny the body to the benefit of the spirit. I like the pleasure of watching my artworks once finished: it is not a question of aesthetics or taste, but of vibrations giving to the viewers the possibility of approaching them differently.  

Of course what underlies my work is the intellectual thing. 
I use philosophy and sciences to support my reasoning and it is the plastic language that comes to materialize the purpose of my research, that is to say the link between material and spiritual. 

The focus of my research and obsessively will remain the same, All the complexity and all the paradox will be to tend towards a purification more and more advanced, the ultimate work being to show the essential (the invisible) with almost nothing." 

First artwork of sculptures
"In my first works of sculpture, my intervention was summarized work in hollow; natural light makes the faces in hollow appear like fossilized souls.

The work presented is constituted essentially of ochre (in its rock/stone form) and of rusted metals. The stones come from the Vaucluse, the Ochre region of France. They are combined with rusted metal. Both the stone and the metal go through the oxydisation process, which is represented here as the passing of time, old age and death.  

The daylight brings life to these stones, a timeless moment that illuminates the spirit within. I purposely minimized my intervention with these raw materials, so as to allow nature to use its creative powers. These once abandoned materials now find themselves joined together. This marriage of textures which I helped create, has brought to life another type of existence.  

The elevation of the stones onto the metal rods represents the rising of the soul having found a sudden lightness and having left its original lifeless, shapeless and heavy form.  
The work reflects humanity now and throughout time; the materials used reinforcing our differences, but also joining us together with the same spirit."

Initial series of F. 2005-2009
"For the initial series of F. artworks (artwork with fire imprint) started in 2005, what counted was to keep the essence of my first works in three dimensions (sculptures) that is to say, leave to nature its creative power, while minimizing my intervention. Assemble in one process the body and mind, nature and civilization and not to oppose them.

This work is not in the line of transformation painters; I would not like to control art with a mixture of colours or forms. I find this process too conclusive, too technical. 
I do not want to be in the line of more conceptual work or where the ideas take precedence over the environment. It is too pretentious with regard to nature. 

Fire, like rusting, is the same process of natural destruction. It also contains the paradox of life and death, of obscurity and light, of colour and monochrome. I associate it with art in the form of coloured pigment, representing life, and making the black synonym of death vibrant. 

Finally, the canvas presented vertically modifies the natural horizontal position of fire. One finds the perception in it different and it makes one feel they are diving into the art like an imprint of themselves."

Series of F. 2010-2012
"My approach still aims at establishing a link between nature and culture, approaching as closely as possible the fusion between the body and the spirit.
 
The body is matter, matter soil, and in my paintings, ashes, charcoal, stones ...  
The spirit is light, light color, and in my work pigments.  
When present, the figure is not representative of the body but of mind. It gives a vaporous form, almost ghostly, which comes to live in the material (the body).  

Is the spirit a spiritual principle detachable from the body, in the case of the soul and if you approach it in a religious way or an empirical elitist thinking principal of the animal, if the considered in a scientific manner?  
Is it the material that creates the mind or the spirit that impregnates the material?  

In the pieces of the series F. and from 2010, this research is shown by an in-depth work, with multiple layers as a universe in a thousand leaves. The body and the mind do not lie on the same level, this is the eye by observing that gathers them together as an entity.  

Those artworks are neither paintings nor sculptures, nor two dimensions or three dimensions, but the result of another approach, where the notion of space and the notion of time are different.  

Unlike other existing plastic forms, whose subject lies on the surface and on which the look just types, it is no longer to bring out things from inside to outside, but to enter the form to open other dimensions.  
Here, the object does not interrupt the look. The interior becomes the subject of the approach.  

The more I work the more I realize that I do not see but feel things, I'm not a painter of vision but of the penetration.  

Series of F. 2010-2012
"Is it the matter that creates the mind or the spirit that permeates the matter? The question remains at the center of my approach. To approach it, I had to tend towards a work, not additive, but subtractive, purging my gesture. 

The pieces of the series F. since 2013 reflect a work of contrasts: 
- Form contrast between matter (the imprint of the remains of a fire) representative of the body and conceptual work (the intersecting lines) assimilated to the spirit. 
- Texture contrast between the asperity of the mater and the smooth appearance of the geometric pieces. 
- Tonality contrast between black charcoal and white geometric shapes. 
- Brightness contrast between the elements in the dark and those in the light. 
 
It should be noted that there are several ways of reading those artworks, according to whether they are seen day or evening, with or without the light of the LED lights. Contrasts of brightness and tonality can then be reversed; the dark parts become clear and the blacks appear white. 

Light is an integral part of my artwork. It is not there to "illuminate" the frame, nor for decorative. It acts as a medium and creates the link between natural elements (the body) and those more conceptual (the spirit). Thereby it never appears directly to the viewer, it is located 'between' the elements.
The relief of matter by capturing light creates a vibration and It is no longer possible to know if the geometric forms are in hollow or are levitating. In addition, more external light decreases, the inner light takes precedence over the formal aspect of the. The light then becomes the own energy of the artwork."


ISBN 978-2-9534504-1-5 - Legal Deposit 2019 - Copyright Eric Béridon

Démarche artistique
"Montrer l'essentiel avec quasiment rien"
Lire la suite de la démarche
"Une pièce me semble réussie quand on peut l’aborder aussi bien d’une manière physique (par le ressenti) que d’une manière plus intellectuelle. Je ne déconsidère pas l’émotion dégagée par la contemplation d’une œuvre artistique car je ne renie pas le corps au profit de l’esprit. J’aime le plaisir de regarder mes pièces une fois finies : je ne parle pas d’esthétique, ni de goût, mais de vibrations qui laissent aux regardeurs la possibilité de les aborder. 

Mais ce qui sous-tend mon travail, c’est la chose intellectuelle. Je me sers de la philosophie et des sciences pour étayer mon raisonnement et c’est le langage plastique qui vient matérialiser le but de mes recherches, c'est-à-dire le lien entre matériel et spirituel. 

L’axe de mes recherches et d’une manière obsessionnelle restera le même, toute la complexité et tout le paradoxe va être de tendre vers une épuration de plus en plus poussée, l’œuvre ultime étant de montrer l’essentiel (l’invisible) avec quasiment rien." 

Premiers travaux de sculptures
"Dans mes premiers travaux de sculpture, mon intervention se résumait à un travail en creux;  la lumière naturelle fait apparaître des visages en creux comme des âmes fossilisées.

L’essentiel du travail présenté ici est constitué de pierres ocres dans la masse et de métaux rouillés. Les pierres viennent du Vaucluse, de la région des ocres. Elles sont associées à des métaux oxydés.
Pierres et métaux ont une origine commune : l’oxydation. Elle est ici représentative du temps qui passe, de la vieillesse, de la mort.
La lumière qui vient donner vie à la pierre, représente, elle, l’intemporel et fait apparaître des âmes fossilisées.  

Je limite volontairement mon intervention, pour laisser à la nature et à la matière leur pouvoir créatif. Détournés dans un premier temps, les matériaux retrouvent après leur assemblage, et grâce à leur texture, une autre vie et interviennent autant que moi dans le processus de création. 

Les pierres rehaussées sur des tiges en métal représentent l’élévation de l’âme et se retrouvent soudain légères, à l’opposé de ce qu’elles pouvaient représenter à l’origine, des masses inertes, lourdes et informes. 
Enfin l’assemblage définitif fait se regrouper des formes de hauteurs différentes, comme autant d’âmes plus ou moins belles, plus ou moins élevées, comme autant d’humains."

Série initiale des F.  2005-2009
"Pour la série de travaux F. (tableaux avec empreinte de feu) commencée en 2005, ce qui comptait c’était de garder l’essentiel de mes premiers travaux en trois dimensions (sculptures) à savoir, laisser à la nature son pouvoir créatif, tout en réduisant au maximum mon intervention. Réunir dans un même processus le corps et l’esprit, la nature et la civilisation et non pas les opposer. 

Ce travail n’est pas dans la lignée des peintres de la transformation. Je ne voulais pas asservir la peinture, le dessin avec des mélanges de couleurs ou de formes. Je trouve le procédé trop démonstratif, trop dans la virtuosité technique. 
Je ne désirais pas non plus être dans la lignée de travaux plus conceptuels où l’émergence de l’idée prime sur l’environnement. Trop prétentieux au regard de la nature. 
 
Le feu comme la rouille est un processus de destruction naturel. Il contient aussi le paradoxe de la vie et de la mort, de l’obscurité et de la lumière, du noir et de la couleur. Ainsi, j’utilise l'empreinte du feu, associée à mon intervention sous forme de pigments de couleurs déposés. Ces derniers représentent le vivant et viennent faire vibrer le noir, synonyme de mort matérielle. 

Enfin la toile présentée à la verticale modifie la position naturellement horizontale du feu. Sa perception s’en trouve différente, et l’on se sent plonger dans la matière comme une empreinte de nous-mêmes."

Série des F. 2010-2011
"Ma démarche vise toujours à établir un lien entre la nature et la culture, s’approcher au plus près de la fusion entre le corps et l’esprit.
 
Le corps c’est la matière, la matière le sol, et dans mes toiles, des cendres, du charbon de bois, des pierres… 
L’esprit, c’est la lumière, la lumière la couleur, et dans mon travail des pigments. Lorsqu’elle est présente, la figuration n’est pas représentative du corps, mais bien de l’esprit. Elle en donne une forme vaporeuse, presque fantomatique, qui vient habiter la matière (le corps). 

L’esprit est-il un principe spirituel détachable du corps, s’il s’agit de l’âme et si on l’aborde d’une manière religieuse ou un principe pensant empirique et élitiste de l’animal, si on l’envisage d’une manière scientifique ? Est-ce la matière qui crée l’esprit ou l’esprit qui vient imprégner la matière ? 

Dans les pièces de la série F. à partir de 2010, cette recherche est rendue par un travail en profondeur, grâce à plusieurs strates comme un univers en mille feuilles. Le corps et l’esprit ne se situent pas sur un même plan, c’est l’œil qui en les observant les réunit et peut en faire une entité.
 
Ces travaux ne sont ni des peintures, ni des sculptures, ni des deux dimensions, ni des trois dimensions, mais le fruit d’une démarche autre, où la notion d’espace et la notion de temps sont différentes.
  
A l’inverse d’autres formes plastiques existantes dont le sujet se situe en surface et sur laquelle le regard vient toujours taper, il ne s’agit plus de faire émerger les choses, de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur, mais de pénétrer la forme pour ouvrir d’autres dimensions.  
Ici l’objet n’interrompt pas le regard. L’intériorité devient le sujet même de la démarche. 

Plus je travaille plus je m’aperçois que je ne vois pas les choses mais les ressens; je ne suis pas un peintre de la vision mais de la pénétration." 

Série des F. depuis 2012
"Est-ce la matière qui crée l’esprit ou l’esprit qui vient imprégner la matière? La question reste au centre de ma démarche.
Pour l’aborder il me faut tendre vers un travail non pas additif, mais soustractif, un travail d’épuration.  
 
Les pièces de la série F. depuis 2013 reflètent un travail de contrastes : 
- contraste de forme entre la matière (l’empreinte des restes d’un feu) représentative du corps et le travail conceptuel (les lignes sécantes) assimilé à l’esprit. 
- contraste de texture entre l’aspérité de la matière et l’aspect lisse des pièces géométriques. 
- contraste de tonalité entre le noir du charbon de bois et le blanc des formes géométriques. 
- contraste de luminosité entre les éléments dans l’obscurité et ceux dans la lumière. 

Il est à noter qu’il y a plusieurs lectures des tableaux, selon qu’ils sont vus de jour ou le soir, avec ou sans la lumière des LEDs. Les contrastes de luminosité et de tonalité peuvent alors s’inverser; les parties sombres devenir claires et les noires apparaitre blanches.  


La lumière dans ce travail est un élément à part entière, elle n’est pas là pour « éclairer », ni à titre décoratif. Elle intervient comme un médium et fait le lien entre les éléments naturels (le corps) et ceux plus conceptuels (l’esprit). Pour cela elle n’apparait jamais directement au regard, elle se situe « entre » les éléments. Le relief de la matière en captant la lumière crée une vibration et fait que l’on ne sait plus si les formes géométriques sont en creux ou en lévitation.  

Par ailleurs, plus la lumière extérieure (la lumière naturelle du jour) diminue, plus la lumière intérieure (la lumière artificielle des LEDs) prend le pas sur l’aspect formel du tableau. Celle-ci apparait alors comme une énergie propre au tableau."


ISBN 978-2-9534504-1-5 - Dépôt légal 2019 - Copyright Eric Béridon